And we all say, Wassup?

A promise too soon = a regret that lasts too long. Some may have consequences not so serious, some repercussions cause grave pain. Mine was simple. Simply put, it began with an over-zealous encouragement for my singing-talent-box friend, carried away I heard myself saying “I  promise to flash at your first gig.”  (I should learn to stop while I can… :/)

To my embarrassment, this turned out to be a mini art festival of sorts… Like a mini Kala-Ghoda Festival. (To all who don’t know, Kala Ghoda Art Festival is a multi-cultural festival of sorts celebrating all literary and performing arts for a whole of nine days in South Mumbai, India. http://www.kalaghodaassociation.com/ for more info. ) So, the suburban equivalent with enough space to walk, and peace to explore, was quite a refresher for an over-worked mind –> Wassup Andheri (https://www.facebook.com/wassupandheri). And to flash my assets there… in broad daylight, evening light, whatever! No way! I felt a nudge, “but… (the ever eternal pout and emotional blackmail!) YOU PROMISED!” (Damn those puppy eyes!)

wassup andheri, andheri, mumbai, festival

Wassup Andheri

While I did go armed, with a bright scarlet bra, but thankfully… the gig didn’t happen, I saved myself that one time. *Phew!* 

Amongst performances which didn’t reach the stage, and the ones which didn’t spark my attention, (also I was there for only a few hours of the 3-day long festival) was a very appealing mix of art, style, and fashion – the bazaar of new artists and brands showcasing their very compelling creativity. Read on for just a small glimpse of what I caught there.

Lotus Leaf Art

Lotus Leaf Art

An ode to Art

A colorful celebration of natural lotus leaves dyed in organic hues to create this beautiful piece of art. The age of the leaves determine the intensity of the color soaked by them; the older the leaves, the lighter the color. (Or vice-versa. Can’t remember, I was going through trauma of the thought of my Indian parents flipping out when the see/hear/know of my flashing. :/ “Naak kalaa kar aayi, I heard the voice in my head.) :p

This intriguing piece was showcased by Confluence Elite – The Concept Store. (www.cedpl.com)

 

 

Amitabh Bachchan

Amitabh Bachchan

An ode to the King

 Vijay! That resounding name played in my head as soon as I saw this –>

Artist Chandrakant Ganacharya creates portraits using wooden rods, following the concept of pixels. Never imagined an interpretation of the digital pixels could be like this; I was in awe of how he “extruded the pixel’s level along with the appropriate use of colour composition for the best resolution”. Want to try simple shapes myself, let’s see how that would go. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

An Ode to the Woman:

An Ode to Women

An Ode to Woman – Avantika Mathur

“The installation represents immense latent power that women possess. She is the cradle of birth and source from which environment draws energy for sustenance of life on Earth. ” – 24 year old artist, Avantika Mathur. Loved the thought. Not so much of a bra-burning feminist (I like being held up nicely), I quite loved the concept, the manifestation, and the sick person by my side added, “nice butt”… So, yeah… that too! :p

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Yay! Several exhibits to suit my wannabe fashionista senses:

IMG_20130315_010547_wm

IMG_20130315_010454_wm

IMG_20130315_010420_wm

 

 

 

 

 

Some worth a special mention:

Shor Sharaba:

https://www.facebook.com/shorsharaba

A part of the raging pop-art culture, it manages to strike a connection with its quirky designs with the desi tadka. Didn’t catch too many pictures here. :/ (Yes, my stupid phone gave up on me. But, hey! links available for you to explore. :p )

A wave of colors hits you with their range of digital print cushion covers, bags, wallets, and my favourite of them all, the coasters. Pssst: I love the Super Drunk one. :p

bags, cushions, shor sharaba, pop art, fashion

Bags and Cushions at Shor Sharaba

coaster, shor sharaba, wassup andheri, andheri

Coasters at Shor Sharaba

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fluke Design Company:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fluke-Design-Co/117259649915

These guys were seriously out of the box. The bright colors and quirky designs followed, but what added to the awesomeness were the crazy magazine holders, lamp shades, kettles, mirrors, and other decor items. Fluke or not, they sure were getting it right.

magazine holder

Magazine Holders at Fluke Design Company

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also,  had to share this – The Averagers. Had me in splits. 🙂

IMG_20130315_010244_wm

The Averagers

 

And… About my flashing… No pictures will be posted when I finally do it.  And YES, I should stop myself from committing to such promises. 🙂 

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

